Facebook users should be aware of a phishing scam that targets those users who administrate Facebook pages on the social networking platform.
The scam works by sending a message to a Facebook page appearing to have come from Facebook informing the page admin that the page will “soon be disabled” because it has been reported as having violated Facebook’s terms of service.
The message will claim that the admin can stop the page from being disabled by confirming their Facebook details via the included link inside the message.
However that link leads to a spoof Facebook login page designed to steal the Facebook username and password information that is entered into it.
An example of such a message can be seen below.
The link inside these messages will lead to a webpage that appears to belong to Facebook. However the web domain doesn’t belong to Facebook. It’s a spoof webpage designed to deliberately trick users into entering their login information.
That information is then sent straight to cyber crooks.
These phishing scams can take on various guises. For example, these phishing scams can also claim to come from “Facebook Security” threatening to disable your Facebook account.
Remember, just because you receive a message that appears to be from Facebook – whether it’s in your main inbox or page inbox – it doesn’t mean it is. Especially if it contains a link to “confirm your details”.