07/20/11 - Article No: 1329

Messages from Facebook Security - Account Suspended? - Phishing Attack

Filed under: Phishing Attack

Other Keywords: Violating Terms of Service

Facebook users are facing a new wave of phishing attacks which bait users through email and Facebook messages by claiming they are from the "Facebook Security Team" and that the users account has been either suspended or terminated due to violation of the social networking sites Terms of Service.

MESSAGE FOR FACEBOOK USERS INC.

We have reviewed the suspension on your account. After reviewing your account activity, it is determined that you have violated our Terms of Service. We`ve issued a warning to you via email, but you do not respond to our notice. Therefore, your account will be permanently terminated, and will not be reinstated for any reason. link removed



Dear [name]

Your Facebook account was recently logged into from a computer, mobile device or other location you`ve never used before. We have reviewed your account activity, and we get information about possible unauthorized access to your Facebook. We have provided a warning to you via email, but you do not respond to our notification.

"Your account was accessed from a new location : Anonymous Proxy."

If you are not signing into your Facebook account from "Anonymous Proxy", your Facebook account may have been compromised. We recommend immediately verify your account by carefully on the link below to protect your Facebook account. It may take a few minutes of your time to complete your data.

Please be sure to visit the Facebook Service Account for further information regarding these security issues.
[link removed]
Note : If within 12 hours, you have not verified your account, then you have ignored our notifications. Therefore, your account is permanently suspended, and will not be reactivated for any reason.

Thanks,
Facebook Security Team


These messages are completely false, and are not from Facebook nor their security team. The purpose of the false messages is to bait Facebook users into visiting a link that looks like the Facebook website, but in reality is owned by scammers. This fake website will tell users to enter personal information such as their password, username and login credentials for any webmail email accounts (like Hotmail or Yahoo). Such information is duly stolen by the scammers after the victim submits the data in the false hope they are saving their Facebook account.

Once scammers have this information they can use it for a plethora of different scams.

Ignore any messages or emails claiming to deactivate your account and when entering any Facebook related information, ensure that the URL begins with www.Facebook.com, and nothing else.




comments powered by Disqus