Facebook has 4 new VIRUSES - Facebook Rumour

14 Nov 2011 - Article No: 1433. Filed under: Facebook Scams | Facebook Rumour


WARNING...WARNING...WARNING...Cant be too careful with these things...I havent checked with snopes.com, however...Facebook has 4 new VIRUSES: #1 ---If you get a notice of a PHOTO TAG ... Do not open it. #2---If you get a notification that a friend reported you for offensive behavior etc.. Do not open it. #3 Is a Video saying 99% of People can not watch this for more the 15 Sec. Do not open it is also a virus. #4 all Messages from your friends via chat saying click this link .. Do not open! These are BAD ones and will crash... your computer ..... re-post and warn friends!


If the creator of this message actually had checked with Snopes.com, they would have realised that this message is misleading and in fact just an incarnation of a much older and equally misleading message that did the rounds earlier in 2011. In fact you can see our entry on a near identical message here, and this newer version is more outdated and innacurate still, because it warns Facebook users of threats that are even more outdated than they were when the original messages circulated.


#1 - If you get a notice of a PHOTO TAG ... Do not open it. - Completely useless warning since Facebook users get notified of genuine photo tags that still appear on the notifications bar at the top of your Facebook page. Rogue Facebook applications did try and fool users with fake photo tag notifications, but this is has been fixed by Facebook since applications no longer get to post on your notifications bar.

#2 - If you get a notification that a friend reported you for offensive behavior etc.. Do not open it. - Outdated threat. Rogue Facebook applications used this assertion to bait users into installing applications but no significant threat has circulated recently. Some Facebook phishing attacks have recently used similar messages to trick users into entering their data on external websites, though read the linked article to learn about avoiding these scams.

#3 - Is a Video saying 99% of People can not watch this for more the 15 Sec. Do not open it is also a virus. - This new addition is a survey scam that directs users to an external website which tries to bait Facebook users into completing a survey. It is actually 98%, not 99% used in most instances of the scam - it is a survey scam, not a virus! Opening the link will not harm your Facebook account or your computer. However users should not fill in the surveys since these scams are designed to waste peoples time, and you open yourself up to SPAM. We discuss this survey scam here.

#4 - all Messages from your friends via chat saying click this link .. Do not open! - Rogue Facebook applications can post through Facebook Chat if a Facebook users installs such an application. However the assertion that users should never click on links shared through Chat is pointless and unhelpful since Facebook users share links through Chat all the time. Exercise caution when presented with suspicious links and always confirm with the sender that the link is safe. Be cautious when such links lead to Facebook application installation pages or to sites that prompt you to download files to your computer.

As you can see the message is highly innacurate. None of the points quoted in the message are viruses, nor are they particularly "bad ones" nor will they crash your computer, or damage it at all. Points 1, 2 and 4 are massively outdated as well as innacurate and point 3 is a survey scam, not a virus. You can learn more about survey scams here.

The message is too vague, outdated and innacurate to effectively serve as a warning message.

Find this article helpful? Then please help us and your friends by clicking the share button below! Also find us on Facebook and Twitter.

Make a comment; Click here.

comments powered by Disqus