Remove Timeline Notification Wipes PC? - Facebook Rumour

29 May 2012 - Article No: 1564. Filed under: Facebook Scams | Facebook Rumour

This article was published in May 2012. August 2012 has seen a similar scam go viral involving Facebook events and the below message is once again circulating. We discuss the latest spam attack in our blog post here.


EVERYONE AND I MEAN EVERYONE !!!!! NEEDS TO SHARE THIS PLZZZZZ !!!!! IT JUST WIPED OUT A FRIENDS PC ............ IF ANYONE GETS A NOTIFICATION FROM ANY FRIENDS SAYING` THEY HAVE `SENT YOU A REQUEST TO REMOVE TIMELINE` DONT CLICK ON IT WHATSOEVER ...... PASS THIS ON TO EVERYONE PLZZZZ


This message claims that notifications are appearing to remove the Facebook timeline and accepting the notification will "wipe" your computer.

The message has been created in response to a real threat involving rogue Facebook applications that are spamming victims Facebook accounts. Upon installation these rogue apps are sending application requests which are appearing in the notifications bar of the Facebook users friends.

However we have seen no evidence of these rogue applications causing any harm to computers. Facebook apps cannot directly access a computer or files stored upon it. We discuss this emerging threat in our blog post here.

Find this article helpful? Then please help us and your friends by clicking the share button below! Also find us on Facebook and Twitter.

Make a comment; Click here.

comments powered by Disqus