My Birthday Calendar is a Malicious Application Warning - Facebook Rumour

10 Jan 2013 - Article No: 1658. Filed under: Facebook Scams | Facebook Rumour


REPOST:WARNING:URGENT! People are getting inquiries allegedly linked to a program called "my birthday calendar". "My birthday calendar" is a malicious application to retrieve data from all profiles. Its very aggressive, just a click makes it starts sending requests to all your friends/contacts. If a request comes from me just ignore it~~NOTE please copy and warn your friends


This warning circulating virally across Facebook warns users of an apparently malicious application that "retrieves data from all profiles".

The warning is mostly false, clearly written by someone with no understanding of how Facebook Apps work.
At the time of writing there is an application with a similar name spreading across Facebook which is lending credibility to this false message. The application, which goes under the name "I want to add your birthday" or "MyCalendar - Birthdays" is simply an application that posts reminders to Facebook users about upcoming birthdays. In reality the App is totally redundant since Facebook offers an inbuilt service that does that any way, so even though this App is not really that malicious (just spammy) we would still not recommend installing it.

We take a look at the claims made in this viral "warning" -


"My birthday calendar" is a malicious application to retrieve data from all profiles.


Just because an App retrieves data from you via your profile (and profiles of your friends) does not mean it is malicious. In fact most Apps retrieve data from your profile otherwise they could not work. In this case the App asks for your birthday and the birthdays of your friends.


Its very aggressive, just a click makes it starts sending requests to all your friends/contacts.


Whilst one could argue that the App is aggressive, it is hardly one click that sends requests.

The first contact with the App is via a request that appears in your notification window or in the top right of your newsfeed - see below


A request for an application


A user would have to click on the request first. Clicking the request leads you to the Application installation page where to install the App a user would then have to click the Go To App Button (below)


Click Go To App installs the app.


Then users would have to click continue when asked if they would like to send requests to their friends. And before those requests are sent a pop-up box from Facebook appears (though this can be disabled by Facebook users) asking for confirmation before sending the requests.


Confirmation box, though unchecking the message below disables it.


So the assertion that 1 click sends out multiple requests is false. Facebook have inbuilt safety features that do not allow any Facebook App to send requests this easily.

Every time a App spreads quickly through Facebook users panic and create misleading and false warning messages. This is not really helpful. If you do find yourself bombarded with App requests to this application, or do not want the App to access your birthday (it can only do this if you have published it on Facebook) then you can block the App - which means blocking future requests and blocking your information from being accessed by it - then go to the App Center on the left hand side of your newsfeed, click Requests and block the application.

Find this article helpful? Then please help us and your friends by clicking the share button below! Also find us on Facebook and Twitter.

Make a comment; Click here.

comments powered by Disqus