Researchers have discovered that the WhatsApp “Delete for Everyone” feature that allows WhatsApp users to delete recently sent messages doesn’t wipe the message completely.
If you’ve ever sent – and soon regretted – sending a WhatsApp message to a person or group, you may have utilized the handy delete tool that wipes the message from the chat, providing you use it within 7 (or so) minutes from sending the message.
However, researchers have discovered that recipients could potentially still read those deleted WhatsApp messages, because of the inbuilt Android notification log.
That log, that allows users to see notifications for a particular app without the need to go into the app itself, stores WhatsApp messages, even those that have been deleted. And while the log is a “hidden” feature in Android, there are plenty of ways to access it (or plenty of Apps that can access if for you.)
There are some limitations, however.
– The log only stores notifications for a handful of hours.
– The log only stores the first 100 characters of WhatsApp messages.
– The log is emptied every time the phone is switched off or restarted.
– And of course, your phone needs to be running Android, version 6 or above.
However, recipients aware of these restrictions can easily access WhatsApp messages that have been deleted by the sender.